How the ’80s programmed us for war

Reagan’s “morning in America” created “Red Dawn,” and a Pentagon-fueled pop culture that trained the masses

Let’s be completely clear: I did not consciously know I was a devout militarist in 1988 at the young, impressionable age of 12. When I ordered my G.I. Joe Snowcat tank to indiscriminately fire one of its six missiles at the Cobra soldiers who so often held my LEGO city hostage, I didn’t think that if this were real, it would probably leave a smoldering pile of blood and limbs and innocent victims. All I thought was: Awesome!

When I rented Hollywood’s first PG-13 rated production, 1984’s “Red Dawn,” and I saw the teen heartthrobs protect America by racking up execution after execution, I didn’t know the movie would also become the Guinness world-record holder for violent acts depicted per minute in a film. All I did was cheer.

http://www.salon.com/2011/03/15/sirota_excerpt_back_to_our_future/

This entry was posted in History.